PSF Board of Directors and Bylaws Vote - 2017 June (Starts 1 June 2017 AoE; Ends 10 June 207 AoE)

public election created by Ian Stapleton Cordasco

This election uses Approval Voting. That is to say that you may Approve as many candidates or bylaws changes as you wish. You may choose to vote for 1, 2, or 22 of the candidates. The candidates have all been nominated on the Wiki: Please carefully read the detailed candidate statements linked after each candidate's name. There is a wealth of talen, dedication, diversity, and integrity among these candidates. It is your responsibility as a voting member of the Python Software Foundation to consider each of these statements. The order that the names appear on this ballot has been randomized and it will not match the order on the nomination page. The Bylaws changes that are being proposed in this election have been carefully considered by the PSF Board of Directors. Please read the description provided for each change as well as the actual changes to the text linked. Please also use the link to the current bylaws to compare the changes.

Voting start at June 1, 2017, 3:01 a.m.
Voting end at June 11, 2017, 11:59 a.m.

questions (2)   |   voters & ballots   |   trustees (1)

This election is complete.


Question #1
Choose only the candidates for PSF Board you approve of.

Lorena Mesa163
Naomi Ceder228
Eric Holscher180
Raphael Pierzina77
Philip James88
Van Lindberg230
Chukwudi Nwachukw108
Marlene Mhangami135
Paola Katherine Pacheco126
Kenneth Reitz135
Kushal Das154
Younggun Kim109
Trey Hunner126
Jackie Kazil171
Christopher Neugebauer113
Thomas Wouters155
Justin Myles Holmes57
Paul Hildebrandt168
Don Sheu97
Leonardo Jimenez80
Kerstin Kollmann95
Irma Leticia Kramer105
Question #2
The following represent changes to the existing Python Software Foundation Bylaws ( Select the changes which you approve of.

Certification by members is not "each year." -- Under the current bylaws, managing and contributing members must certify each year. In practice, this has been unsuccessful. This change removes the "each year" and simply says that these members must certify in a manner selected by the board, which would include certifying at the time of a vote.284
Change of procedure for voting in fellows -- This change a) makes any member capable of nominating a fellow, and b) allows a vote by a working group to act on and approve a nomination.273
Staggered terms for board members -- It is proposed that the board of directors be split into three classes with staggered terms. This change is made to avoid excessive turnover in the board. Instead of every board member being up for election each year, there would be three classes of board members, of which only one third would be up for election each year. This change would keep the at-large board seats at 11. These seats would be known as "at-large" directors.251
Creation of Officer Directors; selection of initial officer directors by vote; no-confidence vote. -- It is common for certain members of an organization's leadership to also hold seats on the Board of Directors. This change creates two "Officer Director" positions that stay on the board, subject to approval voting, while the respective PSF officers stay in their positions. The original Officer Directors will correspond to the offices of Director of Operations and General Counsel. Under this proposed change, officer directors are subject to an initial vote during the current cycle. In addition, this updates the conditions under which an officer director will be removed. Officer directors will be removed if they: a) fail an approval vote, held on at least the same schedule as class A directors; b) leave the office associated with the officer director position; or c) fail a no-confidence vote by the at-large directors. This is both pragmatic (if there is a catastrophic loss of confidence, then the officer directors will not be effective) and it can also help mitigate any sense that these positions are overly insulated from accountability236
Delegation of the ability to set compensation -- Under the current bylaws the ability to set compensation is reserved to the President. For purposes of clarity, this change explicitly delegates that power. 276
Audit Info